Board Members

Board of Directors

FDDC’s Board of Directors is made up of tribal members and representatives from key sectors of the banking, small business, community development, and housing community. The board plays a key role in linking FDDC to the tribal governments and to the non-Native community at large. The board is responsible for setting corporate policies and strategies, assisting in fundraising and budgeting, and overseeing the fiduciary functions. All board members have diverse and extensive backgrounds and expertise.

The current Board of Directors is listed below:

Lisa Sockabasin –PRESIDENT
Director, Office of Health Equity
Maine Center for Disease Control
(Rep: Passamaquoddy Tribe at Indian Township)

Director of Ecomomic Development
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians
(Rep: Penobscot Tribe)

Charles Boothby –SECRETARY
Boothby Associates

Retired Community Banker

Susan Hammond
Executive Director
Four Directions Development Corp

Clayton Cleaves
Former Tribal Chief
Passamaquoddy Tribe –Pleasant Point
(Rep: Passamaquoddy Tribe at Pleasant Point)

April Reynolds
Housing Director
Maliseet Housing Authority
(Rep: Houlton Band of Maliseets)

Jeffrey Nathan
U.S. Customer Service Operations
Bank of America

Laura Buxbaum
Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Resource Development
Coastal Enterprises, Inc.

Michael Bush
Housing Director
Penobscot Indian Nation Housing Department

Gabe Paul                                            Language Instructor                                Penobscot Nation Department of Cultural and Historic Preservation


Advisory Board

Four Directions also has an Advisory Board that includes the tribal Chief from each community, as well as experts in state, federal and other relevant programming. The Advisory Board serves as a mentoring resource to management and provides access to funding sources, partnerships, and networks essential to FDDC’s growth and success.  

The Advisory Board members are listed below:

Kirk Francis
Penobscot Indian Nation                               

Clarissa Sabattus
Tribal Chief
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians                                                                                                                                

William J. Nicholas Sr.
Passamaquoddy Tribe-Indian Township                    

Ron Phillips
Former President
Coastal Enterprises, Inc.                                                                                                                                       

Edward Peter-Paul
Aroostook Band of Micmacs                                                      

William Lucy
Senior Vice President, Commercial Services
Katahdin Trust Company                                                                                                                                     

William Burney
Field Office Director                                                                      

Keith Bisson
Coastal Enterprises, Inc.